Christian Living, Motherhood

Motherhood Meditation

His delight is not in the strength of the horse,
nor his pleasure in the legs of a man,
but the Lord takes pleasure in those who fear Him,
in those who hope in His steadfast love.

Psalm 147:10-11

That is my meditation for today. Currently I’m sitting next to my baby’s rocker, carefully tapping the keyboard with soft fingers so as not to wake her. At this point she’s 6 weeks, but day naps still aren’t her norm yet. Who knows how long this moment will last? She’s already stirring in her slumber. I’ll thus make this post brief.  🙂

Motherhood, as many shared with me during my pregnancy, is no easy task. Despite the physical exhaustion and the temptation to constantly worry, I’m finding rest in the fact that the Lord does not value accomplishment as the world does. Our society loves to praise success, in part because we are designed to recognize excellence, the most excellent Being being God Himself. However, this desire to esteem the star athlete or the wealthy businessman, or what is obviously impressive, can often relish in pride and overlook the most beautiful, though meek blessings, like caring for a young life.

This verse, part of a lovely psalm (I encourage you to read the whole thing!) shows a stunning truth about our Creator. God takes deep pleasure not in the outright display of power of His creatures, but in the creatures that have a humble heart. He is drawn to those who revere Him, who place their trust in Him. And so, as I grow in patience, gentleness, and understanding in raising Amariah, I ultimately and primarily desire to treasure the Lord and depend on His strength, not my own. As long as my heart is inwardly bowed toward Him, in my weakest moments He is delighted.

I share this as an encouragement. Whatever season you’re in in life, it’s easy to fall into the tiresome track of perfectionism or to seek temporary affirmation from the world, and in turn lose heart and lose focus on what matters. When you’re secure in Christ’s love, when you have peace in knowing He has saved you from sin, you can worship God in any circumstances and thus bring Him pleasure.

Praise the Lord!
For it is good to sing praises to our God;
    for it is pleasant, and a song of praise is fitting.

Psalm 147:1

img_5167

Leave a Reply

