Christian Living, Devotional

Realization

We all share the same journey. Separate from the One who made us, we cling onto empty desires, pains, and logic.  All are based on the obvious worry about what others think. To sustain ourselves we compare, isolating our identities in relation to one another.  These motives are not only present in peer pressure, but in the everyday political race, sports game, and workplace.

All mortals tend to turn into the thing they are pretending to be. C.S. Lewis

Failure isn’t an option. Get the best grade. Don’t show weakness. Be somebody. Grow up. Get the promotion. Some of these mantras make us stronger, but most discourage us by pressure. Because self-consciousness controls us, many times we sacrifice our beliefs to public opinion or push dreams away because of our ‘imperfections’. Each of us carries a hunger for approval or respect, afraid of rejection or uselessness… Yet, when we discover Christ as the truth, light, and the life, our actions find purpose and freedom. They take hold of a positive, divine meaning.

 8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the LORD.
9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.
10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. Isaiah 55:8-11

All of my life I have been trying to prove myself, whether it be in the academic, athletic, or cultural communities. I incorrectly believed that success was earned through the world. My glory was quantitative; my happiness measured by test scores, game points, compliments, and praise. My imperfect ability depended on another imperfect person’s judgement. How does that work in the end? My contentment was beautiful but brief, a flash of sunshine in a constant storm. I was never satisfied, always digging deeper into myself, self-criticizing. Really I was desperate for others to see want they wanted to see. I found society runs on counteractive suppression and elevation, as humans struggle for superiority.

It’s not our differences that separate us, but our judgments of each other that do. Meg Wheatly

 

As I got lost in this race, stressing over my life’s direction and envying others’ confidence, I knew there had to be something more. I knew Earth was not simply a dog-eat-dog civilization, there are far too many amazing graces. I believe that God, who is beyond the world and is its Creator, has a perfect will. This flawless authority can only be followed by accepting Christ.
Jesus died so that our human weaknesses–our sins–can be dismissed in exchange for a renewed relationship with God. Once this reconciliation happens we have a resurrected life–a redeemed, holy perspective. Once Christ’s grace consumes our soul, it also defines our ambitions, emotions, and actions. God is the only one whose acceptance and love truly matter. With Him you have nothing to fear, nothing to prove, nothing to hide or to lose.
In all your ways acknowledge him, and He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:6
All we have is one chance on this planet. It should not be wasted chasing unreachable perfection. It should not be spent drawing lines and building walls against others, only to get ahead. It is meant to be lived with blessed abandonment of the world, and trusted acceptance of the One who accepted you. It is a journey that always leads back to God, and relishing in His perfection.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11:28-29

1 thought on “Realization”

Leave a Reply

