Christian Living, Devotional

Tough Week?

Stress is natural, normal, but usually nonsensical. Everyone has moments of weakness everyday – sneaking in as worries, doubts, distractions, drama, or concerns. We all are susceptible to the contagious presence of stress in our conscience or in others. I am no stranger to the forms of stress; for stress is the innate sister of time and uncertainty. Often with my own aspirations of my future I have wondered where the money, opportunity, or acceptance from the world will come from. I want to attend a university and change the world, but will it come to be? The future is lingering, with its questioning whispers- could you, should you, would you be able to do it? But worrying shows a lack of confidence in God.

When my dreams and hopes are high, I am humbled by the silent doors, ones unanswered when I go knocking. Soiled or lost chances present themselves as slammed doors. And every time, with my heart crushed, I again cry out, so where do I go from here? What is next, do I even have a next? The answer is always yes, and as they say, when one door closes another opens. Life balances out, with God in control. Have faith. One must renew the mind, look to God’s Word, and keep to it to find a purpose and perspective.

Everything can change in 24 hours, as you face each day in a needle and haystack life.

SO HERE ARE DIRECT VERSES OF ENCOURAGEMENT:

First of all, a well-known but frequently forgotten promise,

For I know the plans that I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:11

“Have faith in God,” Jesus answered. “I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, “Go throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he said will happen, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.” Mark 11:22-24

“I am the vine, you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5

Person: “But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.” “‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible to him who believes.”  Mark 9:22-23

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

“Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.” John 6:35

“But seek first his kingdom and righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble on its own.” Matthew 6:33

3 thoughts on “Tough Week?”

    1. Thank you Scott… that really means a lot to me, that you would sacrifice time away from your homework to read it and leave a comment! ;D

      Like

  1. I love this one. I especially liked when you said, “While my dreams and hopes are high, I am humbled by the silent doors, ones unanswered when I go knocking. Soiled or lost chances present themselves as the slammed doors. And every time, with my heart crushed, I again cry out so where do I go from here?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

