Christian Living

Adios, Verano Hermoso

Although the Endless Summer only applies to surfing, I wish it possible at the point when June hits. Especially this time around in 2010, during my seventeenth year, before my last rush of high school.

The sun rises and sets in an endless cycle, but the concept of time has counted its days, defined the meaning to its warmest season upon Earth. The word summer releases a plethora of feelings and memories; it represents freedom, friendship, relaxation, excitement, love… For every person summer can reveal the heart’s infinity. It wasn’t until this year that I discovered this, and felt the magical spirit that the sunny months hold.

Stanford Summer College 2010. The four best friends I have ever met. The liveliest home I’ve ever been a part of, in the madness of A-House and FloMo. Hundreds of random but unique peers- who were intelligent, kind, funny, amusing, eccentric, and cool- all at once. Basketball, volleyball, football, frisbee galore. Throw in learning tennis too. Dancing in a flash mob. Exploring the Bay Area. Eating gelato for the first time, and having a sweet old man serving it. Late night walks to CoHo, or back from Palo Alto. Mimicking the scenes of Singin’ in the Rain, and laughing under hysterics and terror after Vertigo. Oh, to have a lucky Chinese lantern that isn’t red, and to be able to tag dorm mates on a WORLD map. Walking the catwalk, as a boy and on a roof. Loving a secret “Dory”. Breakfast no matter what, lunch outside under the trees and with the bees, dinner back in good old Alondra. Don’t forget Princess Peeler of the bananas, fellow Paloma staff diners, and ping pong before pool. Crazy Oceanography study groups, with inevitable pizza, and shouts of “Fjord, foci, and flocculation!”. Frustration over the many hours of Bio Research labs. And who knows what grades, but at least I made relationships of a life time.

That’s right. I did spend my summer at school, but for once it turned out to be one of the most meaningful times of my life so far. Who knew that by doing the opposite of what summer is about- hometown times, travel, and laziness- I would find out what summer really means by studying, laughing, and thinking at a university.

If only it could have been endless.

2 thoughts on “Adios, Verano Hermoso”

  1. PRINCESS PEELER IS BACK! with her crew of frozen bananas.

    Those five girls are amazingly, fantastically, truly, sooperly, extremely awesome. I like them. I like them a lot. I miss them. I miss them a lot. I LOVE THEM. I LOVE THEM A LOT.

    ROAD TRIP S’IL VOUS PLAIT!!

    JE T’AIME

    Like

  2. I’m glad we were able to setup this special summer experience for you… the friendships you made along the way were the best part, and a special place in your heart…
    A “Summer” to remember… thanks to Stanford.

    Love You
    Dad

    Like

Leave a Reply

